Indigeneous turtleLand Acknowledgement for Timiskaming Health Unit Catchment Area 

We respectfully acknowledge that the Timiskaming Health Unit operates within the Robinson-Huron Treaty, Treaty 9 and unceded Indigenous territory, specifically within the traditional territories of Beaverhouse, Matachewan, Temagami and Timiskaming First Nations. Today these lands encompass communities with enduring presence of Algonquin, Anishnabai, Ojibwe, Cree, and Métis Peoples. 

We acknowledge that original peoples have been stewards and caretakers of these lands and waters since time immemorial and acknowledge that they continue to maintain this responsibility for generations to come. 

With honour and respect, we say miigwetch to the original peoples and affirm our commitment and responsibility to reconciliation.